Conference and Awards

Home > Conference and Awards

Each September we hold our annual conference – bringing together experts, including prison staff, the third sector and policy makers, to discuss the opportunities and challenges of the current prison education climate, and how best to drive reform forward.

This year’s annual PLA Conference is taking place on 3 September, and is being hosted by The Open University in Milton Keynes. Tickets for this year’s conference are now sold out.

This year’s conference will include a panel of previous PLA Award winners, a panel discussing the impact of the new PEF and DPS contracts as well as a talk from OFSTED regarding the new inspection framework.

For the full PLA Conference Agenda click here

The conference also hosts the PLA Awards, which recognise those who have made an inspiring contribution to prison education.

Nominations for this year’s conference have now closed. The winners for the different categories will be announced at the PLA Conference. The categories are:

  • Outstanding Teacher
  • Outstanding Officer
  • Outstanding Peer Mentor, Orderly or Rep
  • Outstanding Individual (Librarian, governor, workshop instructor, volunteer)
  • Outstanding staff member or mentor in the youth estate

Our wing is blessed/fortunate/staggeringly lucky to have her running our reading group, and to have her as a librarian.

Nomination for Fiona Hodgson, Librarian and PLA Award Winner, HMP Birmingham

Peer Mentor

Kevin – HMP Maidstone

Josh – HMP Ranby

Stephen – HMP Portland



Stephen Rogers – Teacher, HMP Whitemoor

Lesley Bennetts – Art and Design tutor, HMP Swaleside

Andrew Morris – Student Support Services, HMP Ashfield



Ali Joubert and Jayne Bruce – Instructional Officers, HMP Huntercombe

John McCrae – Custodial Manager, HMP Onley


Young People’s Estate

Louiza Nener – Employability teacher, HMP/YOI Feltham

Nico Hughes – Sports tutor, HMYOI Werrington

Martin Crowther, Simon Crowther, Nic Goodinson, Steve Koleszar and Mark Wilkinson – Land-based activities team, HMP/YOI New Hall



Fiona Hodgson – Acting Library Manager, HMP Birmingham

Sharon Baker – Business Hub Manager, HMP Wymott

George Sainsbury – Librarian, HMP Lowdham Grange


Read more about the 2018 award winners here

Young People’s Estate

Anthony Sproston – HMYOI Werrington

Jack Peters – HMYOI Werrington

Daniel Rochester – HMYOI Werrington

Emmanuel – HMYOI Werrington



Winner: Roxy Ball – HMP Ranby

Teresa Rumbelow – HMP Parc

Geoff Sykes – HMP Gartree



Winner: Wendy Price – HMP Drake Hall

Michaela Fennel-Hyden – HMP Stafford

Ronnie Spence – HMP Northumberland



Winner: Governor Vicki Sampey – HMP Styal

Penny Nixon and Natalie Hylands

Simon Torrance


Peer Mentors

Winner: Oluseun – HMP Maidstone

Andrew – HMP Wandsworth

David – HMP Gartree

Teacher: Young People’s Estate

Emily Dewar Landridge – Feltham Young Offenders Institute, London

Sangeetha Navendren – Feltham Young Offenders Institute, London


Teacher: Adult Estate

Aleta Blackall – HMP Ford, Sussex

Mickie Griffiths – HMP Littlehey, Cambridgeshire

Cheryl Penn – HMP Usk, Bridgend

Ian Rampton – HMP Eastwood Park Women’s Prison, Gloucestershire.

Vilma Smith-Yates – HMP Wymott, Lancashire.

Sue Kane – HMP Low Newton Women’s prison



Trevor Latham – HMP Parc, Bridgend

Trudy Sketchley – HMP Swaleside

Emma Crow – Offender Supervisor specialist officer, HMP Frankland



Vicky Dickeson and Valerie Samual – librarians, HMP Swansea

Pierro Izzolino – St Giles Trust Coordinator, HMP Huntercombe

Michaela Taylor – Learning and Skills Manager, HMP Warren Hill

Dr Ruth Armstrong and Dr Amy Ludlow – Cambridge University and founders of ‘Learning Together’


Peer Mentor

Habib – HMP Swaleside, Kent

Paul – HMP Rochester, Kent

Tien – HMP Huntercombe, Oxfordshire

Nicholas – HMP Parc, Bridgend

Samuel – HMP Thameside, London

Teacher/Education Staff

Janet Bowen – Maths teacher, HMP Low Moss

Liza-Ann McAllister (Maths and English teacher) and Amanda Leadbitter (Hospitality) – HMP Low Newton

Inigo Garrido – Prison Teacher, HMP Shotts



Officer Dodkin – HMP Isle of Wight – Albany

Officer Clive Vincent – HMP Erlestoke.


Prisoner Peer Mentor

Marcus – Peer Mentor, HMP Swaleside

Leon – Peer Mentor, HMYOI Aylesbury

Craig – HMP Shotts



Sharon Von Holtz – HMP Grendon, Open University Co-ordinator

Hazel Lynn – HMP Glenochil, Learning Centre Manager:

Jenny Hunter – HMP Shotts, Health Improvement Practitioner

© Prisoner Learning Alliance 2019

whois: Andy White Freelance WordPress Developer London